Log in

The OATA Trillium Award is presented to Athletic Therapists distinguished by their exceptional contribution to and advancement of the Athletic Therapy profession in Ontario. The Inaugural Trillium Award was presented in 2019 to Anne Hartley. The 2020 and 2021 Award Recipients have been denied an in-person presentation and celebration by their peers.  We are hoping to address this shortcoming with an upcoming podcast featuring Wendy Hampson (2020) and Marcia Franklin (2021). Let's pay tribute to these trailblazers!!


Marcia Franklin carried the torch as President of OATA in the early 1990s, demonstrating iconic leadership in terms of forging a future for Athletic Therapists as health care professionals. During her time as an OATA Board of Director, she contributed significantly to the promotion of Athletic Therapy, her leadership skills being acknowledged with Marcia serving as OATA President for two consecutive terms. 

Marcia is well known for her work with elite, competitive athletes including Canada Games, Pan Am Games, and Special Olympics through to the Summer Olympic Games. Marcia has served at three consecutive Summer Games from 1996-2004 along with the Pan American Games and Special Winter Olympic Games from 1995-1997. 

Marcia Franklin, we salute you for being a remarkable trailblazer, making the Ontario Athletic Therapy profession stronger and better recognized within sport medicine and health care for active Ontarians.

Registered Name ® 2022

Athletic Therapy Ontario


OATA Registered Office

7800 Kennedy Road, Suite 101

Markham, ON, L3R 2C7

Copyright © 2020 (OATA) Ontario Athletic Therapist Association 

Tel: (905) 946-8080

 Telephone Support Hours: Monday - Friday 

10:30 am to 3:30 pm.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software